Congrats to Our Area WAMI Award Winners!

Award Show Held Sunday in Milwaukee

April 15, 2019
Congrats to Our Area WAMI Award Winners!

An exciting gathering in Milwaukee for the annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) awards show on Sunday night, and we want to send a big shout-out of congrats to some of our friends and area musicians who are bringing home accolades. This includes the "Warrior Songs" for album of the year, an important project highlighting the lives of women who have served our country, and the lasting effects it has had on their lives. Kelsey Miles contributed to the album, and joined us during McGaw in the Morning, to share a beautiful song from it. And there's Beth Kille, one of the hardest working musicians around, and a talent we've been fortunate to highlight several times. Beth received the President's Award for her work with the Madison Area Music Association, and Madison Girl's Rock Camp.

Congratulations to all the winners! You can see the entire list below, along with the area winners highlighted. And do me a favor, click on the link to check out their work, too. -Teri


WAMI Winners, 2019:

Artist of the Year: Lex Allen

Album of the Year: Women At War: Warrior Songs Vol. 2, Warrior Songs

Song of the Year: “Only In Dreams,” Amanda Huff and Peter Thomas

New Artist of the Year: The Docksiders

Male Vocalist of the Year: Andre Beaudot

Female Vocalist of the Year: Erin Krebs

Singer-Songwriter of the Year: Keith Pulvermacher

Rising Star of the Year: Parker Collar

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist: Amberstein

Bluegrass/Americana Artist: Horseshoes & Hand Grenades

Christian/Gospel Artist: Spirited Strings

Blues Artist: Jay Edward

Country Artist: Buffalo Gospel

Cover Artist: Star Six Nine

Folk/Celtic Artist: Reilly

Hard Rock Artist: Lords of the Trident

Metal Artist: Revolution-X

Punk Artist: The Cherrypops

Jazz Artist: Jerry Grillo

Polka Artist: The November Criminals

Pop Rock Artist: Well-Known Strangers

Hip-Hop/Rap Artist: Zed Kenzo

R&B/Soul Artist: The People Brothers Band

World/Reggae/Ska/Latin: Luma Knotty

Club/DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist: Luxi

Horn/Big Band Artist: Extra Crispy Brass Band

Tribute Artist: Project Pink

Bass: Chris Hanaway

Drummer: Jim Winter

Guitarist: Angie Swan

Keyboard: Noah Harmon

Reeds/Brass: Michael Clobes

Strings: Joe Ketchum

Best Studio Engineer/Producer: Steve Hamilton

Best Recording Studio: Tanner-Monagle Inc.

Best Live Club/Venue: Shank Hall

Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights: Jason Lueck

President’s Award: Beth Kille


People’s Choice, Southwest: Cherry Pie (best band); Jan Baker (best teacher); WGLX-FM 103.3 (best radio station); Hollyrocks (best venue); Jaeden Piller (fan)

People’s Choice, Northwest: The Dweebs (band); Brian McLaughlin (teacher); WIFC-FM 95.5 (radio station); Schuggy’s (venue); Leanne Booher (fan)

People’s Choice, Northeast: RPM (band); Mark Budwit (teacher); WAPL-FM 105.7 (radio station); Stone Toad Bar & Grill (venue); Doris Budwit (fan)

People’s Choice, Southeast: Almighty Vinyl (band); Jim Walski (teacher); WHQG-FM 102.9 (radio station); The Saloon on Calhoun (venue); Bradley John (fan)

Hall of Fame: Paul Cebar, the Chordettes, Realm


Winners list courtesy of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinal